CURRICULUM VITAE

CAREER HISTORY

February 2015 – present

I have started a project in Kigali, Rwanda with my local friend Janvier. We have developed a plan to help people living with disabilities through art. The aim of our project is to help disadvantaged people finding employment or setting up business. Prior to that, we will provide education and training, which will help them to develop skills useful for their future. We have included art therapy, which is our main focus to give people with disabilities self confidence.

Our clients are physically disabled adults, most of them approached while begging on the streets. We provide for them lunch and pay transport fees to get to our studio in Gikondo, Kigali.

May – July 2014         Volunteer Photographer for Cameroon Partnership in Development, Cameroon

I was selected as a volunteer photographer to document life of people in remote villages of the North West Region of Cameroon. The charity I worked for helps local people with physical disabilities to set up small businesses and provide them with support to continue with running of their business and providing solutions to the problems these people are experiencing.  My objective was to tell these people’s lives through my camera lens. My work was then used to promote the charity’s website to attract more funding. I was also part of a group of volunteers who provided basic health checks for people living in remote villages we visited.

2010 – 2013                 Founder/Manager, Animal Farm Village, Nairobi, Kenya

I started and ran a farm project from scratch which helped educating school children about local ecology, recycling and domestic animal farming. The aim of the project was to educate as well as enable slum children to enjoy nature. I established a relationship with Elimu Trust from Mukuru Slum to enable their children to benefit from regular visits. The farm also helped autistic children to get accustomed to their environment, the animals and other children.

As well as supporting the children’s education the farm produced milk, eggs and meat which was sold back to the local community. As the farm grew I employed workers from the local community to help me with the day-to-day farming tasks. My aim was to employ people from disadvantaged background with no education; this gave them the opportunity to learn English from me and I was able to learn Swahili. They also benefited from regular income that helped to send their children to school and I accommodated the workers families at the farm in order not to split families. I was involved in all day-to-day task of the farm such as repairs, looking after the guests, helping with the animals, hiring new workers, advertising our activities and preparing leaflets as well as preparing  accounting ledgers and making sure all invoices were paid in time.

In addition I traveled to urban villages in Kenya and lived with Samburu tribe in their mud houses and I have lived in Somali communities in Kenya.

2009 – 2010                 Sales Assistant/Merchandiser, Oliver Bonas, London

I was responsible for merchandising window displays, stock control, dealing with customers and providing advice and operating tills. I was a key holder responsible for opening up and shutting the store.

2007 – 2009                 Store Manager/Merchandiser, Joy (Louche London), London

Over the two year period I spent at Joy I worked my way up from Warehouse Assistant to Store Manager. I performed all duties normally assosiated with a Store Manager role including staff management, stock control, effective handling of customer complaints, store security and responsibility for locking up, banking and cash reconciliation.

2007                            Part-time General Assistant, Barbican Art Centre, Digby Trout restaurant, London

While studying English I found a part-time job selling coffee, snacks and sandwiches throughout concerts and exhibitions.

EDUCATION AND QUALIFICATION

 Aug 2014        Shooting the Past Photography Course, London (creative artistic photography)

 Jul 2014          DSLR Photography Courses, Wimbledon Art Studios, London (indoor and outdoor manual photography courses)

Sep 2013        A.G.E. Training Certificates for Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation and Patient Manual Handling

Jul 2013          Mental Health Care Assistant course at City Gate Training with certificate

2006 – 2007     Aspect English Language School, Oxford and London (Upper Intermediate Certificate obtained)

2001 – 2005     UMPRUM Art School (Academy of Arts, Architecture and Design), Prague, Czech Republic (A-level equivalent obtained in Interior Design, Art Design and Technology, History of Art, Czech Language and Grammar and English Language)

2000 – 2001     Higher Vocational School of Textile Crafts and Secondary Art School of Textile Crafts, Prague, Czech Republic (GCSE equivalent obtained)

ADDITIONAL EXPERIENCE IN HEALTH CARE

I acted as a personal assistant to my 86 year old grandfather in a late stage of cancer; I took full care of him and assisted him with bathing, feeding, dressing, maintenance, food preparation and making sure he takes correct medication.

I gave him emotional support and provided entertainment, spent time reading with him, talking and going out for walks.

I worked as a volunteer for Civic Association Villa Vallila in the Czech Republic (www.vallila.cz) helping young people with disabilities who face social exclusion, preparing clients for self-sufficient life and enabling people with disabilities enjoy life in full in the society. Whenever I visit the Czech Republic I go and stay at Villa Vallila and help with the clients.

HOBBIES AND INTERESTS

One of my biggest passions is travelling and meeting new people along the way. I enjoy conducting seminars about my travels and talking about my experiences. I have visited most of the European countries, number of African countries and the Middle East. I also enjoy writing stories about my travels and experiences from my time spent in Africa, one of which has recently been published in the Czech Republic. I continuously do various art and photography projects and have done exhibitions of my art in the past. I enjoy organising fundraising events and during my stay in Kenya I helped to raise money to buy equipment for school with orphan children.

Amongst other hobbies I enjoy playing guitar, oil painting and cooking for friends. I like to keep active and I enjoy swimming, jogging and playing tennis.

Advertisements